Cageless Birds

Standing on the shore of decision, looking into the face of adventure, desiring to abandon all I know, what pushes me is rooted somewhere in between misunderstanding and knowing. Knowing that what I want to understand is not within my reach, so I ponder my escape, not knowing what lies ahead. Adventure in theory is full of excitement and bleeds with passion for life. But adventure in reality is full of breathless moments, silent nights, and wounds that leave scars and memories on a heart. Can I go the distance? Can I give all my mind to get what the Messenger is saying?

Can I surrender my knowing?

Will I survive the humility of ignorance to obtain the treasure that earthly gold cannot buy?

Will I ask the question of honesty even if the answer convicts my soul and sends me to the land of repentance?

All of these thoughts flood my mind.

As I stand on the shore of choosing, in the distance of my wandering, I see with clear eyes a flock of wild, beautiful birds, swooping clearly in my direction, as if they see me and they are coming for me.

And how strange it is that their eyes are full of clarity and the melody of their flapping winds sings out—

We are coming for you.

My song is waking up. Wake up the songbirds. We want to hear your melodies. Songbirds, wake up and start singing. You’re not in your cage anymore, bound by your shame anymore. The walls that held you in prison, the gate is flung wide open. Start singing, cageless birds.

 

I wish I had written this, but full credit goes to Jonathon David and Melissa Hesler (Cageless Birds)

One of the most beautiful songs, it says all the words I cannot form.

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Cageless Birds

  1. Soulful Curiosity

    Beautiful!! This spoke to me: “Will I ask the question of honesty even if the answer convicts my soul and sends me to the land of repentance?”
    I needed to hear that this very moment!!

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.